Reviews



Beautiful guest house with a lot of charm - Rating 5/5

We travelled as a family with older children and enjoyed it very much staying in family guided Fir Tree Guest House with very nice and helpful staff in very clean rooms and an excellent fresh cooked breakfast

Reviewer: Eveline Kuffner | Wed 19th Apr 2017


We will return - Rating 5/5

Beautiful Victorian house which is run by very friendly hosts. Our room was tastefully decorated and so spacious. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and we appreciated the water in the fridge (and lovely flapjacks!).

Reviewer: Miss. Alexandra Farmer | Mon 17th Apr 2017


First time in Windermere - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Fir trees. Rooms were very cozy and comfortable and breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer: Antonella Gelosia | Sat 15th Apr 2017


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay, clean and cosy. The breakfast was delicious, a choice of ceral, fruit, yogurt and pastries as well as a cooked breakfast made to order, the pancakes were a great choice not just for the young!

Reviewer: Jennifer Dyke | Sat 15th Apr 2017


Memorable & comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Very cosy atmosphere with excellent service from Tim & colleagues. Breakfast was excellent . Will definitely drop by again when the opportunity arises

Reviewer: KokWeng Woo | Wed 5th Apr 2017


Well looked after. - Rating 5/5

Love the place and we couldn\'t have been looked after any better. Also like the fridge and fresh milk in the room. Try the complimentary flapjack!

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Wood | Sun 2nd Apr 2017


Enjoyable and Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome. Well appointed rooms and tastefully decorated. Situated nicely between Bowness and Windermere. A pleasant 5 minute walk either way. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer: Mr Stephen Lamb | Tue 28th Mar 2017


Brilliant break away with the dogs - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed for 2 nights with our dogs and loved every minute. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were so nice as welcoming. We felt really at ease with the dogs too, they provided dog bowls and beds for us and the back garden was just outside our room so perfect for letting the dogs out. It\'s only a ten minute walk into either Bowness or Windanere which is ideal. We will defiantly be going back there...

Response

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you and hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewer: Ashlea Patterson | Mon 27th Mar 2017


1 night stay at Fir Trees - Rating 5/5

I booked the room for my family visiting from Thailand. They had a nice stay at this guest house. The breakfast was in a good selection and the host was nice and friendly. Thanks for warm welcoming! My family enjoyed their time there

Reviewer: Ms. Sariya Saengcharoenwanakul | Sat 25th Mar 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

we stayed over Christmas, me & my kids loved it. It was nice & quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff were approachable.Room 4 was lovely, spacious. Thanks Bea, your husband and sister in law.

Reviewer: Miss. Beauty Mupa | Thu 29th Dec 2016


Repeat guests - Rating 5/5

3 nites at Fir Trees We had a lovely time at Fir Trees. Breakfasts were outstanding and the hosts most helpful.

Reviewer: Mr. Larry Brixey | Thu 8th Sep 2016


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights in Room 7.Everywhere very clean and room at the back had a very comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent everything you could want. Neither of us could fault anything. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Diane Firenyi | Sat 20th Aug 2016


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

We had really nice weekend the bed breakfast very clean, really nice people , very good area near shops and lake , breakfast very nice we will be returning

Reviewer: Mrs. Joanne Oldridge | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Another brilliant holiday - Rating 5/5

We stayed in Fir Trees for our 12th consecutive year and it was once again a pleasure to stay with Bea and Bob. Their hospitality is second to none and the accommodation excellent. Well worth the long trip.

Reviewer: Mrs. Karen Allum | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


Fab break - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at fir trees guest house. Our room was lovely as was our hosts. They made us feel so welcome. Excellent breakfasts.we will be back as soon as we can. Cant recomend enough. Superb guest house. See you all soon. Trev and Roz newcastle x

Reviewer: Miss. Rosamond Johnston | Mon 18th Jul 2016


FIR TREES GUEST HOUSE - Rating 5/5

very nice stay and looking forward to next time room / breakfast excellent lovely welcome on arrival highly recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer: Mr. MR KEVIN BAMBER | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

We both had a really lovely stay here, the owners are very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was really good & comes with as much tea/coffee/juice as you like! The room we stayed in was at the front and it was beautiful, spotlessly clean and very comfy bed. Fresh towels & complinetary robes too. We would definitely recommend & return!

Reviewer: Mr. Matthew Wilcock | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Fir Trees First Class - Rating 5/5

Guests are made very welcome and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is excellent it\'s just a home from home We have stayed here 4 times it is great.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Bench | Mon 13th Jun 2016


Definitely return - Rating 5/5

Had a really relaxing stay at fir trees. Very tasty breakfast with lots of choice. Lovely room with really comfortable bed. Very welcoming hosts . Will definitely be going back soon.

Reviewer: Mr. karen coult | Sat 11th Jun 2016


Chilled - Rating 5/5

Stayed here 6 years ago and loved it. Couldnt believe it was juat as perfect again. Lovely people beautiful rooms and a typical english atmosphere just perfect. Thank you again and we will be back xx

Reviewer: Ms. sarah chilvers | Sat 11th Jun 2016


lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stopped at fir trees over the bank holiday weekend. The accommodation was fantastic,lovely rooms,great breakfast and very friendly staff. Will stop there again.

Reviewer: Mr. Mark Routledge | Tue 3rd May 2016


Excellent guest house! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Fir Trees for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! Bea was there to greet us and showed us to our room, she made us feel very welcome 😊 The room was immaculate and very comfortable/spacious, and the period features of the guest house are beautiful. The breakfast was gorgeous and there was plenty of it, we were all very full after!! We would definitely recommend this place and would stay again, thank you Bea and Bob for your hospitality!

Reviewer: Mrs. Deborah Watson | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Enjoyable stay at the Fir Trees - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at the Fir Trees for a couple of nights with our 2 children and found the accommodation and service excellent. The couple that run it could not have been more friendly or accommodating, the family room we had was of a good quality and the breakfasts were hearty and well cooked. Will definitely be returning in the future.

Reviewer: Mrs. Karen Gough | Sat 9th Apr 2016


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have just had a fantastic time at the Fir Trees guests house. The breakfast was filling and plentiful. The room was lovely and well decorated and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The guest house is nicely positioned for a short walk to ether windermere or bowness.

Reviewer: Mr. kevin Phillips | Mon 4th Apr 2016


Excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

Matches description perfectly! Welcoming host and friendly staff. Room spotless, comfortable beds, breakfast delicious and plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mrs. Anne-Marie Burns | Mon 21st Mar 2016


BRILLIANT - Rating 5/5

Fir Trees is a beautiful victorian house, our room was very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean during our stay. breakfast was the best really enjoyable plenty of choice too. Our hosts couldn\'t do enough for us, we will be booking to go and stay at the Fir trees soon.

Reviewer: Mrs. DENISE GIBSON | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


A great stay - Rating 5/5

It\'s our second visit to Fir trees. The owners are very friendly and the rooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and everything was catered for. Will definitely return to Fir trees.

Reviewer: Mrs. Marina Richardson | Sun 15th Nov 2015


Another excellent stay with Bob & Bea - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 3 nights in October with our 18 year old son and my wife. Accommodation spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and an outstanding breakfast. Bob & Bea perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble. We have stayed before and would fully recommend Fir Trees; we will be booking to stay again although next time as it is just the 2 of us we will book one of the more luxurious rooms with a garden view.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Litherland | Sun 8th Nov 2015


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The room was lovely as was the hospitality and the food. We will definitely stay here when we next visit the Lake District. Thank you

Reviewer: Mr. Nick Harrison | Sat 31st Oct 2015


wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

Such a fantastic experience in lake district with Fir Trees, especially the traditional English breakfast. I will definitely recommend to my friends.

Reviewer: Mr. Zhuang Liu | Wed 26th Aug 2015


Well recomended - Rating 5/5

Chose Fir Trees from the many available in Bowness/Windermere as we were meeting friends in the area. Booked online - quickly confirmed. Reveived a good welcome. Room was big, beds great, but bathroom was compact. Breakfast was amazingly good - & far too much to eat! Limited car parking at front, but can use drive way to vets at left hand side.

Reviewer: Mrs. Carol Hagan | Thu 20th Aug 2015


Cosy and good location - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night. Room was really nice and breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. We will use again!

Reviewer: Ms. Yumi Azuma | Mon 17th Aug 2015


weekend break - Rating 5/5

we stayed at the fir trees for two nights and the small family room was idea for our short stay.full breakfast was excellent owners very friendly and very welcoming,rooms very clean and comftable if you are going to windermere for a few days i recommend the fir trees as your base

Reviewer: Mr. brian collins | Mon 10th Aug 2015


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

have just enjoyed a really relaxing stay at The Fir Trees. Our room was extremely comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very well presented, tasty and plenty of choice. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. We would definately recommend staying here.

Reviewer: Mrs. Stella Johnson | Tue 16th Jun 2015


A lovely break - Rating 5/5

Visiting Fir Trees for the second time mum myself and my son had a fabulous two night stay wish it could have been longer . We were made to feel so welcome in this beautiful guest house by Bob and Bea. Every where is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is excellent and well presented. Fir Trees is in a good location and we hope it is not to long before we return.

Reviewer: Mrs. Julie Kearney | Fri 8th May 2015


Bank Holiday Break - Rating 5/5

This establishment is stunning & probably one of the best we have stayed in when we come to the Lake District. The room was spotless & very comfortable (possibly a wee bit tight as a Twin, but not a problem). Breakfast was lovely & on coming back from our day out, a lively surprise that our night clothes had been folded to look like parcels, nice sweet little touches made this place very special. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Cannon | Tue 5th May 2015


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

Fantastic hosts !! Will be back staying next year

Reviewer: Mrs. Tracy Gould | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a very good stay at Fir Trees. Everything was spotless , room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and was made even more enjoyable,if that was possible, by a very friendly and cheerful Bea. Would recommend it to anyone

Reviewer: Mrs. Catherine Kelly | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Homely, Cosy and Friendly - Rating 4/5

We had a happy stay at Fir Tree for 3 nights. The room and toilet are clean and nice, and we can sensed that the owner tries to upkeep the apartment to a good condition. Breakfast was freshly made and delicious. Owner was friendly and helpful.

Reviewer: Mr. Tay Gim Seng | Sun 12th Apr 2015


Another wonderful holiday at our favourite guest house - Rating 5/5

We have been coming to Fir Trees for 10 years and we always have a wonderful holiday. It makes an excellent base for exploring, the breakfasts are second to none and the rooms really comfortable. We will definitely be back again.

Reviewer: Mr. Karen Allum | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Excellent, absolutely lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed in a well sized room, with beautiful decoration and a great \"at home\" feel. Those running Fir Trees were very polite and helpful, greeting us as though we were family and serving a delicious breakfast each morning. Highly recommend giving this place a try! A big thank you to Fir Trees for a wonderful holiday in the Lake District.

Reviewer: Mr. David Butler | Sun 15th Feb 2015


brillant stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a brilliant stay with you this past weekend ro to celebrate our anniversary. Everything about our stay was perfect, from the room to the breakfast and my gorgeous flowers. I was also very grateful for the ice bucket and cork. We would not hesitate to stay with you again!

Reviewer: Mr. David Shaw | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

The Fir Trees B&B is situated between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere and offers wonderful comfortable rooms. The traditional English breakfast is lovely and sets you up for the day. You are certainly greeted with a warm welcome from the hosts.

Reviewer: Mrs. Helen Thompson | Wed 19th Nov 2014


Bowness - Rating 5/5

Fir trees is a lovely clean comfortable B and B with an excellent breakfast

Reviewer: Mr. Rod Elsey | Mon 10th Nov 2014


Fir Trees - Rating 4/5

Lovely b@b. Very clean and tastefully decorated. Staff friendly. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewer: Mr. Chris Wilson | Mon 13th Oct 2014


Short break - Rating 5/5

We have stayed several times at the Fir Trees, accommodation, is clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with plenty choice. Always a warm welcome.Good position between Windermere and Bowness

Reviewer: Mrs. Lynn Baxter | Tue 7th Oct 2014


Excellent holidays - Rating 5/5

Very nice b&b. Everything was fine, breakfast was extraordinary.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Sperlich | Fri 19th Sep 2014


A lovely break - Rating 5/5

A well situated guesthouse with parking and within walking distance of Windermere & Bowness.The room was well decorated and very clean.Breakfast was excellent and served in a courteous and friendly manor.The Fir Trees exceeded our expectations. We will be staying there again.

Reviewer: Mr. Philip Brownlow | Tue 9th Sep 2014


holiday - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay very freindly great breakfast very nice room and would stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. Kevin Taylor | Sun 31st Aug 2014


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

we had a lovely one night stay here - clean and fresh rooms nice and airy in a central position :)

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Merrick | Fri 29th Aug 2014


fir trees - Rating 5/5

very pleasant guest house in the perfect position and finished to a very high standard, would visit again.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Wigfield | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

We stayed a weekend here and booked it fairly last minute. The owners and staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, even though we were working around a race and having to leave early. A really comfortable, quiet bad clean room. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Ms. Jennifer Regan | Sun 27th Jul 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

No words can describe the place ,the hosts we spent the weekend with ,it was an amazing place and everything was perfect and added to such a magical weekend Hazel and myself enjoyed. We will be back very soon

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Parker | Mon 21st Jul 2014


great weekend :) - Rating 5/5

We Stayed last weekend for 2 nights lovely & friendly B&B very clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely too, it's In a great spot nice and quiet but only 10min walk down to the bottom or up to the top for restaurants n pubs would definitely recommend :)

Reviewer: Miss. Emma Plaister | Thu 17th Jul 2014


Fir trees weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel run by lovely people. Breakfast was worth the wait. Excellant!

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Fell | Wed 16th Jul 2014


Ideal weekend getaway - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and clean accommodation ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. Excellent breakfast served by friendly and attentive staff. Great value for money location will stay here again on our next visit.

Reviewer: Mr. Neale Clark | Mon 14th Jul 2014


Welcoming hosts - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, super breakfast and very understanding host when I lost my debit card. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Reid | Mon 7th Jul 2014


fir trees - Rating 5/5

Great location, lovely comfy bed, freindly staff and a great breakfast willl be staying again soon

Reviewer: Mrs. Kim Craddock | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

Fir Trees is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in! They were so nice and accommodating, as we have 3 small boys. The family suite was just perfect for us. The breakfast was wonderful and delious! They also have the best location, being half way between the villages of Windermere and Bowness. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone traveling to the Lakes District. Thanks again Fir Trees for a wonderful stay!!

Reviewer: Dr. Pedro Irazoqui | Mon 23rd Jun 2014


Fir trees - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every way, not far from lake, very clean breakfast very nice indeed, the couple that own it are very friendly and great with children will defo be back

Reviewer: Miss. Zoe Burgess | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Fir Trees, Windermere - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Fir Trees, the Guest House was extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent I would have no problem at all in recommending Fir Trees to any friend or member of the family.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lynette Long | Sun 13th Apr 2014


Fir Trees - Rating 5/5

Lovely place,nice people,very clean, they could not do enough for you.

Reviewer: Miss. Dorothy Ellerton | Wed 9th Apr 2014


Brilliant again! - Rating 5/5

Two nights in Room 7. A lovely room with some nicely added quality touches. One criticism would be the corner bath - takes a little getting used too! Otherwise all very clean throughout. Slept soundly and awoke refreshed. Breakfast is as good as you could wish for with a good selection on offer from cereals to fruits. From a full breakfast to special requirements all served in a happy and generous way. Toast, jam and marmalade to complete the array on offer. All in all another wonderful stay and we hope to return ... as soon as work and our commitments elsewhere allow.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Wilson | Fri 21st Feb 2014


Lovely Weekend - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we have stayed at The Fir Trees and we have never been disappointed, Bea and Bob make you feel welcome from the time you arrive to the time you leave, we have stayed in rooms 6 and 7, both are lovely clean comfortable rooms but I am sure all the rooms are to the same standard, the breakfast menu has plenty of choices and is beautifully cooked fresh to your liking. The location is perfect, you have the best of both worlds, 5 minute walk either way will see you in the centre of both were there are plenty of good restaurants. Hope to be back soon.

Reviewer: Mrs. Julie Jackson | Mon 17th Feb 2014


Perfect - Rating 5/5

A last minute decision to have a night in the Lake District, so it wasn't easy finding a family room. As it turned out Fir Trees' was a perfect location, lovely house, excellent breakfast and friendly and relaxed hosts. We would definitely book again. ( Thomas Tank engine egg cup at breakfast impressed our 4 year old Thomas!)

Reviewer: Mrs. Alison Card | Tue 29th Oct 2013


Fir Trees - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Our third stay at Fir Trees did not dissapoint.Bea and Bob provided a warm comfortable room good breakfasts and friendly conversation. We will certainly visit them again.

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Smith | Wed 16th Oct 2013


great time - Rating 5/5

excellent place to stay great breakfast and very attentive staff would recommend to any one

Reviewer: Mr. Colin Gregson | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


Great - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Mr. Kevin Cauchi | Thu 19th Sep 2013


Fir Trees - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at The Fir Trees. Couldn't have been better, the room was beautiful, the breakfasts were divine and the hosts were delightful. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

Reviewer: Mrs. Dawn Taylor | Mon 16th Sep 2013


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay, thank you, and very friendly and lovely hosts. Only gripe is it would have been nice if my side of the bed had had a bedside table, also we had a lot of problems getting the toilet to flush. But really lovely and would definitely come again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Heather Colluney | Fri 30th Aug 2013


Perfection - Rating 5/5

Fir Trees is a beautiful B&B and booking in advance is essential in order to secure a room. Our stay was wonderful. The room was a delight and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Bed was so comfortable it was a struggle to get out of it and breakfasts are hearty with lots of choice and cooked to your individual specification. With just a short walk to Bowness town the B&B location is just perfect. We will definitely stay again without question. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mr. Daniel O\'toole | Mon 5th Aug 2013


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Visited for 2 nights excellent service, superb hosts!! Breakfast was delicious & rooms were clean and tidy.Slight traffic noise but not a major problem. Would visit again.

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Hewett | Sat 27th Jul 2013


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We were only able to stay one night but found the accommodation very comfortable. we were greeted in a friendly manner and very happy with the breakfast menu. Would stay there again if visiting Windemere.

Reviewer: Mr. Bruce Tunstall | Wed 24th Jul 2013


Fir Trees - Rating 5/5

Fir Trees was very comfortable, quiet and easy to find --- in walking distance from town and walking trails. We enjoyed the breakfast and everyone was very friendly and accommodating.

Reviewer: Mr. Roy G Pollina | Mon 1st Jul 2013


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

This is our third stay at Fir Trees and it just gets better.Our room was very comfortable and we were very well looked after.The choices of breakfast were all superb,the hosts are very welcoming and can't do enough for you.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Bench | Thu 20th Jun 2013


Warm and nice guest house to stay - Rating 5/5

I went to Windermere this May and stay at Fir Trees for 2 nights, the landlords are very nice persons and the English full breakfast they provided is so delicious. The room and the bathroom are tidy and clean, well-decorated that gives me a warm feeling of comfort. Windermere is a peaceful and beautiful place to visit, Fir Trees guest house is a nice place to stay too. I would strongly advice that to my friends.

Reviewer: Mr. King Man Lee | Sat 25th May 2013


Fantastic English Hospitality!!! - Rating 5/5

Have just returned from a lovely Easter break at Fir Trees. We have never stayed in b&b but it was a great experience! Breakfast was great, lots of choices and very tasty. The room was very clean, warm, and nicely decorated. The owners were a friendly and helpful, who made you feel very welcome. Very good locations only 5-10 min walk into Windermere. Car park just outside. We would highly recommend!

Reviewer: Mrs. Kinga Bogdanowicz | Thu 4th Apr 2013


Relaxing Break - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming B&B, lovely people, very friendly, lovely house and breakfast, great location for both Bowness and Windermere. Thanks Again

Reviewer: Ms. Stephanie Roberts | Tue 26th Mar 2013


Fir Tree Guest House - Rating 5/5

I would like to say that myself and my family had a fantastic time at the Fir Tree,the host's Bea&Bob were very welcoming, and the breakfast is the best i have ever tasted, were will be staying here again very soon, thanks again. : )

Reviewer: Mr. Gareth Stote | Mon 4th Mar 2013


Our Favourite B & B - Rating 5/5

My wife & I have been visiting the Windermere area for over 20 years & sampled various accommodation during that time. We have stayed at The Fir Trees many times now & it still remains our firm favourite as the accommodation & hospitality provided by Bob & Bea are excellent.

Reviewer: Mr. Tom Halley | Tue 26th Feb 2013